In the Woods

Take me to the woods

Take me away from this concrete jungle

away from the screaming voices,

machines that never stop

lights that don’t turn off

Please leave me in the woods

Where the wind rustles through the leaves

the only light comes from the full moon.

the only voices are the hooting of owls and the chirping of crickets

Take me away from the gibbering voices that ring in my ears

Away from the smell of chemicals and waste

Leave me where the air smells sweet and clean in the morning

Where the birds sing in the sun as it shines through the emerald foliage.

Take me to the woods

A balm for my aching heart among the shifting light and wild things

My soul is weary of the city where I love the people

and miss the wild places.

-TLazt

Author: piercedatthedoor

I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I grew up on a farm in Saskatchewan, Canada. I enjoy writing, reading and drinking tea out of tea cups. This blog is kind of a fun little hobby of mine.

Leave a comment